Buncombe County

The Buncombe County Democratic Party has a long, proud tradition of electing Democrats in Western North Carolina. In 1920 Buncombe County elected Lillian Exum Clement, the first female to serve in any state legislature in the southeast. Marie Colton, House of Representatives 1979-1994 and First Woman Speaker Pro Tempore of the NC House.The quality of our candidates has always been strong. From Senator Herbert Hyde to Congressman James Clarke to Senator Martin Nesbitt, the legacy they have left for Western North Carolina on women’s rights, the environment, education, and other important issues, will be long lasting.

Buncombe County’s Democratic Party is part of both the 10th Congressional District and 11th Congressional District Democratic Party of North Carolina and the North Carolina Democratic Party.  The BCDP consists of a group of Officers, County Precinct Officers, County Executive Committee and Auxiliaries (Clubs) and Caucuses. The heart of the BCDP is run by its incredible and dedicated volunteers.

There are no upcoming events at this time.

June 3 Celebration

There will be no cover charge, and food and drink (alcoholic and non-alcoholic) will be available for purchase. We’ll also be providing desserts and music! The food truck joining the party is Melt Your Heart – visit their Facebook page to take a look a…


Primary Election Results

For details on ballot count, visit the NC Board of Elections website. We are pleased to congratulate the winners of the primary election: Quentin Miller, Sheriff Amanda Edwards, County Commissioner District 2 Donna Ensley, County Commissioner Distri…


Early Voting in Buncombe Primary

April 19 – May 5 Early voting is underway for the May 8 primary. Registered voters select from a slate of Democratic candidates who are the party’s best choices to take back North Carolina from the GOP in the November General Election. You can confirm …